Kano – Jack Bauer: The 7 Day Edition Mixtape

19 Mar

Kano - Jack Bauer Mixtape

In the run up to the release of his new album, Method to the Maadness, Kano has kept his word and released the Jack Bauer: The 7 Day Edition mixtape (which I hastily downloaded).

Kano comments:

“The tape’s called Jack Bauer: The 7 Day Edition and I named it that because I felt like Jack from ‘24′ working to a deadline to get this shit done ever since I opened my big fuckin’ mouth and said that I could do it.”

The London MC, has received a lot of criticism of late from the media about his role in the government apprenticeship campaign and from the ‘underground’ about his departure from making grime. So, I guess that Jack Bauer is an attempt to silence the critics. For me, Track Burglar and Kinda Like A Big Deal really stood out and I loved the fact that he’s jumped on one of the biggest tunes of the moment, Rude Boy . Jack Bauer is a decent release but overall, I was a bit disappointed as I thought he was going to come harder than he did on the tracks.

Don’t get me wrong I like Kano and you’ll often find More Than One Way and Rock n Rolla pumping on my iPod but I was hoping that he’d give the critics a run for their money, considering the fire that some MCs are dropping these days and the eagerness of the forums to “go in” on mainstream artists; but I guess he’s being tactical and saving the really good stuff for the new album. Well, I’m ready, my iPod’s ready so let’s do this!

Rating: 6/10

Download/Listen to Jack Bauer here.

Tracklist

  1. Intro
  2. You Are Young
  3. Track Burglar
  4. Pass Out (KA Freestyle)
  5. Game Over
  6. Rude Boy
  7. Chip Roll, Sausage In Batter
  8. Back Home
  9. Kinda Like A Big Deal (KA Freestyle)
  10. Kano In The House (Pon De Floor)
  11. Pursuit Of Happiness
Leave a Reply

